UNESCO Biosphere Reserve of the Elbe River Landscape

The biosphere reserve of the Elbe River Landscape "Biosphärenreservat Flusslandschaft Elbe", which was recognized by the UNESCO in 1997, is the largest inland biosphere reserve in Germany with approx. 340,000 hectares.

It represents one of the last natural river landscapes in Central Europe. Numerous natural river and meadow structures are preserved and embedded in a centuries-old cultural landscape. A biosphere reserve of a meadow landscape that crosses five federal borders is something unique in Germany.


The diversity of habitats in the near-natural meadows, the adjacent marshes, the tributary lowlands and the sandy "Geest" areas is impressive and the basis of great biodiversity. Dark hardwood riverside forests, inland dunes, steep sandy edges, vast meadow landscapes, and many waterbodies with reeds and fens define the Elbe meadow "Elbaue". Many plants and animals, including many endangered species, live here. The beaver, which was going almost extinct decades ago, has recaptured the entire course of the river as a habitat. White storks in the pasture land "Grünland" are part of the daily picture of summer. In addition to 200 breeding bird species, Nordic geese and swans use the area for resting and hibernation. And the white-tailed eagle also feels at home here.


Four of the five subregions of the UNESCO biosphere reserve of the Elbe River Landscape are in our section of the river between Hamburg and Wittenberge. Each offers outstanding experiences of nature. More information can be found here:

Lower Saxony - "Niedersachsen"

The Biosphere Reserve of the Lower Saxony Elbe Floodplain "das Biosphärenreservat Niedersächsische Elbtalaue" extends 100 km southeast of Hamburg and extends from Elbe kilometre 472.5 by Schnackenburg to kilometre 569 by Lauenburg at altitudes between 5 and 109 m above sea level. The area is 567 square kilometres.

 

Mecklenburg-West Pomerania - "Mecklenburg-Vorpommern"

The Mecklenburg part of the cross-border UNESCO Biosphere Reserve covers 397 square kilometres and extends over a length of about 65 km between Boizenburg and Dömitz.

Brandenburg 

The Brandenburg subregion extends over 70 river kilometres, from the border of Saxony-Anhalt to just before the gates of Dömitz in Mecklenburg-West Pomerania. The Brandenburg part of the Biosphere Reserve is about 530 square kilometres.

Schleswig-Holstein 

Schleswig-Holstein has a small part of the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve near Lauenburg. A website is under construction.

Further information about the offers on-site can be obtained in the information centres of the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve "Flusslandschaft Elbe":

The information centre in the Biosphaerium of the Elbe Floodplain "Elbtalaue"
The information centre at the fortress of Dömitz (Mecklenburg-West Pomerania)
The visitor centre of Rühstädt (Brandenburg)
The visitor centre at the castle of Lenzen (Brandenburg)

The information centre in Havelberg (Brandenburg)

More information centres are under construction.

1/6

The Partner Companies of the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve

Each of these certified companies is particularly committed to the preservation and further development of the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve of the Elbe River Landscape or its part of the Biosphere Reserve in the respective region.

Not only do they offer sustainable tourism services, but also, as an ambassador of the Biosphere Reserve, they provide lots of interesting information and tips about the region.

Recreation Areas


Since 2002, the law on the Biosphere Reserve "Niedersächsische Elbtalaue" has laid down rules for the protection of nature. Thus, the entire Elbe foreland is strictly protected as a nature reserve. This also means that drivers may not leave the roads and dogs must be kept on a lead. Exceptions are the designated recreation areas on the banks of the Elbe. There the roads may be left and water tourists are allowed to dock as well as to stay overnight on the banks of the Elbe.

 

You can get information about these recreation areas through the Biosphere Reserves.


For the municipalities, "Amt Neuhaus" and "Bleckede", the Biosphere Reserve "Niedersächsische Elbtalaue" has created an information flyer, which is available for download here.

UNESCO Biosphärenreservat Flusslandschaft Elbe

Das 1997 von der UNESCO anerkannte, bundesländerübergreifende Biosphärenreservat „Flusslandschaft Elbe"  ist mit ca. 340.000 ha das größte im Binnenland gelegene Biosphärenreservat in Deutschland. 

Es repräsentiert eine der letzten naturnahen Stromlandschaften Mitteleuropas. Typische Fluss- und Auenstrukturen sind zahlreich erhalten, eingebettet in eine jahrhundertealte Kulturlandschaft. Ein fünf Bundesländergrenzen überschreitendes Biosphärenreservat einer Stromauenlandschaft ist in Deutschland einzigartig.

Die Vielfalt der Lebensräume in den naturnahen Auen und den angrenzenden Marschen, Nebenflussniederungen und Geestflächen ist beeindruckend und Basis großen Artenreichtum. Dunkle Hartholzauenwälder, Binnendünen, steile Geestkanten, ausgedehnte Wiesenlandschaften, viele Gewässer mit Röhrichten sowie Moore prägen das Bild der Elbaue. Zahlreiche Pflanzen und Tiere, darunter auch viele bedrohte Arten, leben hier. Der Biber - vor Jahrzehnten fast ausgestorben - hat sich den gesamten Stromlauf als Lebensraum zurückerobert. Weißstörche im Grünland gehören zum täglichen Bild des Sommers. Neben 200 Brutvogelarten nutzen im Winter nordische Gänse und Schwäne das Gebiet zur Rast und Überwinterung. Und auch der Seeadler fühlt sich hier heimisch.


Vier der fünf Teilregionen des UNESCO Biosphärenreservats Flusslandschaft Elbe finden sich an unserem Elbeabschnitt zwischen Hamburg und Wittenberge. Jede bietet für sich herausragende Naturerlebnisse. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier:

Niedersachsen

Der niedersächsische Teil des UNESCO Biosphärenreservats Flusslandschaft Elbe, das Biosphärenreservat Niedersächsische Elbtalaue  erstreckt sich 100 km südöstlich von Hamburg und dehnt sich von Elbekilometer 472,5 bei Schnackenburg bis Kilometer 569 bei Lauenburg in Höhenlagen zwischen 5 bis 109 m über NN aus. Das Gebiet ist 567 km² groß.

 

Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 

Der mecklenburgische Teil  des länderübergreifenden UNESCO-Biosphärenreservats umfasst 397 Quadratkilometer und erstreckt sich auf einer Länge von ca. 65 km zwischen Boizenburg und Dömitz.

Brandenburg 

Die brandenburgische Teilregion  reicht über 70 Flusskilometer, von der Grenze Sachsen-Anhalts bis kurz vor die Tore von Dömitz in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Das Biosphärenreservat "Flusslandschaft Elbe-Brandenburg" ist rund 530 km² groß.

Schleswig-Holstein 

Schleswig-Holstein hat einen kleinen Teil des UNESCO Biosphärenreservates Flusslandschaft Elbe bei Lauenburg. Eine Website befindet sich im Aufbau.

Weitere Informationen zu den Angeboten vor Ort erhalten Sie in den Informationszentren des UNESCO Biosphärenreservates Flusslandschaft Elbe:

Informationszentrum im Biosphaerium Elbtalaue

Informationszentrum auf der Festung Dömitz (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern) 

Besucherzentrum Rühstädt (Brandenburg) 

Besucherzentrum Burg Lenzen (Brandenburg) 

Infostelle Havelberg (Brandenburg) 

Weitere Informationszentren sind im Aufbau.

1/6

Partnerbetriebe des UNESCO Biosphärenreservates Flusslandschaft Elbe


Diese zertifizierten Unternehmen engagieren sich im besonderen Maße für den Erhalt und die Weiterentwicklung

des UNESCO Biosphärenreservates Flusslandschaft Elbe bzw. ihres Biosphärenreservats in der jeweiligen Region.

Sie bieten nicht nur nachhaltige touristische Leistungen, sondern halten als Botschafter des Biosphärenreservates

viele interessante Informationen und Tipps zur Region für Sie bereit. 

Erholungsbereiche


Seit 2002 legt das Gesetz über das Biosphärenreservat "Niedersächsische Elbtalaue" Regeln zum Schutz der Natur fest. So ist das gesamte Elbvorland streng wie ein Naturschutzgebiet geschützt. Das bedeutet auch, dass Wege dort nicht verlassen werden dürfen und Hunde an der Leine zu führen sind. Ausnahmen bilden die ausgewiesenen Erholungsbereiche am Elbufer. Dort dürfen die Wege verlassen werden. Ebenso ist dort für Wasserwanderer das Anlanden erlaubt, genauso wie eine Übernachtung am Elbufer. 


Welche Erholungsbereiche dies sind, erfahren Sie über die Biosphärenreservate.

Für die Gemeinden Amt Neuhaus und Bleckede hat das Biosphärenreservat Niedersächsische Elbtalaue Niedersachsen den hier zum Download verfügbaren Informationsflyer erstellt.